Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 6th, 2012

 

I love walking down some dingy alley and stumbling into a hole in the wall like Yarl Hotel. This is the real deal folks, not something you’ll find in a guidebook. You won’t find Foodies here either, but real people looking for real food to fill them up for a day of hard work. My cousin Sam and his son took me here because they know I like Jaffna food, the spicier Tamil cuisine found on the north of the island (“Yarl” is the Tamil name for Jaffna). Wellawatta, a suburb of Colombo, is about 99% Tamil, so this is the place to find some serious Jaffna food. And in Jaffna, they love their seafood–fish, prawns, crab, and squid. They also love their chilies, and so do I!

 

Yarl Hotel

46/1 Station Road

Wellawatte, Colombo

011-259-3905

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 790 other followers

