Skiz’s Original Sri Lankan Roasted Curry Powder

10 thoughts on “Skiz’s Original Sri Lankan Roasted Curry Powder”

  1. I just got my jar of Skiz’s Original Sri Lankan Roasted Curry Powder today.. and, damn son…. this stuff smells like paradise. I opened the jar and was stopped cold in my tracks by the pungent, smoky, savory scent…. this stuff is the dank, the super potent stuff.

    I haven’t cooked with it yet, but it smells much, much better than my own attempt at roasting Sri Lankan curry powder. I’m already glad to have it!

    do you have a link to a fish recipe that works well with it?

    1. Thanks, Brett. Just got back from NYC where I was the selling the powder at a popular Brooklyn street fair. I will post a fish curry recipe soon!

      Best,
      Skiz

  2. Sri Lankan defintiely is one of the last undiscovered culinary gems. Could you imagine if every Thai / Indian place in America got switched with a Sri Lankan restaurant for a month? I think a LOT of people wouldn’t want to go back.

    Great work on getting Sri Lankan cuisine on TV and for your new curry powder. I will support ya and recommend it all the way, but I think it would help turn people on to have easy to access to recipes. I know a lot of people who’d love to try it but wouldn’t have a CLUE what to do with it. I’m just learning myself – realizing I don’t have to buy a $1700 plane ticket to have the same food here in the US.

  3. I bought some of this stuff at the Brooklyn Flea last weekend and my only complaint is that the jar is just too damn small. It’s only been 8 days and I’ve already used almost 3/4 of it.

    I made the chicken curry recipe last weekend and it was effin’ awesome and I’ve been experimenting with other uses ever since. (I added a bit to my dry BBQ rub. It did not suck.) This stuff is pretty goddamn amazing.

    I currently have some chicken in the fridge marinating in this stuff and a little apple cider vinegar. I think this time I’m going to add a bit more lemongrass and maybe some carrots and raisins for something a little sweeter. Probably not genuinely Sri Lankan, but I bet it’s gonna taste great.

    You coming back to the flea anytime soon? Because i need some more of that stuff. Seriously, I’ll get like 3 or 4 next time.

    1. Hey–
      Glad you liked the powder. I’m not going to be at the Flea for a few weeks, but you can get the powder at Kalustyan’s in Manhattan (28th & Lex)–ask for it by name.

      I’m also starting to sell online at Foodzie.com. To add a little sweetness, I usually add a tablespoon of tomato paste to the curry–also to thicken it and add some color.

      Glad you enjoyed it!

      Best,
      Skiz

  4. Skiz,

    So pleased to see you on the Travel Channel. I’m a fan of Bourdain, but you really make the Sri Lanka episode worth watching. You do your wonderful culture a great justice. Your cookbook is worth reading and re-reading. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

