Curry In A Hurry?

7 thoughts on “Curry In A Hurry?”

  1. Awesome…looks so yum & filled with that spicy goodness I love !

    I will whip it up on one of my ‘curry missing days’… hope the masaman is available at my grocer !
    (We love Thai Curries too btw)

  2. I have been drooling over David Thompson’s massaman recipe in the ‘Curry Cuisine” book you recommended. The curry picture there looks so unbelievably thick, rich and complex.. but it also appears to be closer to a 3 hour prep time with some difficult-to-find ingredients like Cassia leaves.

    I generally prefer to make recipes from scratch to know how it “should” taste so I can adjust canned seasonings from there – but I have had downright decent results with jar Panang curry paste fried in coconut cream. Doesn’t complete with the spectacular firework flavors that come out of my mortar – but it’s damn decent enough for lunch. No complaints. I know exactly what you mean.

    I will definitely try this brand of paste for mussaman soon!

    p.s. the sour tuna curry in your book tastes spectacular after a couple of days in the fridge. an acquired taste.. lightly shocking to my palette at first bite… but by the time i finished off the batch I was dreaming and scheming to make more@

  3. Skiz,

    Reading this post around lunch time was just too tempting.

    I fried some Mae-ploy Panang curry paste in coconut cream, adding shrimp, palm sugar and finely torn lime leaves… garnished with sliced chiles and a handful of fresh Thai basil.

    I reckon I got about 85% of the taste (which is a solid B+) with only 15% of the pounding and effort. It was delicious, not just “okay.”

    Penang paste seems to make an especially good candidate for ‘curry in a hurry.’

    Will try canned massaman soon, and making my own massaman paste to compare and learn the subtleties.

  4. I made the massaman with this brand of paste today and it was great. Good enough to lick the for and plate. Deep frying the potatoes, onions and peanuts and then draining them helped make it tasty.

    The thing I am trying to learn, when working with coconut milk and cream, is to get the curries to separate correctly. My first attempts at Thai curry, maybe 5 years ago, would always result in this thin, spicy cocount milk soup that didn’t have any texture or detail. The really luscious stuff I remember from SE Asia has this marbled, swirling texture where the water, oil and coconut fat solids visibly separated to some degree. Parts were thin and oily, parts were thick and spicy-laden, like marinara sauce.

    From what I am unraveling, it has to do with using different qualities of both coconut milk and cream… different heats… and timing it properly.

    This recipe taught me a bit about how to make a thicker curry:
    http://www.realthairecipes.com/recipes/panang-curry/

    p.s. Yes I am a budding curry fiend, but I am also a rice fiend. I have a Zojirushi induction heat rice cooker from Japan… and about 15 different kinds of rice in my cabinet. My favorite is GABA-activated brown rice. It has a very refreshing, almost sedative-like quality after consuming it that is noticable over regular rice. Truly the king of carbohydrates.

Leave a Reply

