Introducing: Skiz’s RAW Curry Powder for vegetables

6 thoughts on “Introducing: Skiz’s RAW Curry Powder for vegetables”

  1. I grew up eating nothing but vegetarian food made by Kandyan mom and Jaffnaite Grandma and know how good it can be.

    I’m sure you’ll get some interest for this–alot of home cooks have crunchy sympathies and might actually know that coriander has more than one useful part.

    Given the variability of our cuisine, it’s interesting to see how you’ve segmented the curry powder component. Mom always had a different mixture for every featured veggie (and now, I learn, for fish, fowl and others as well)

    1. As you know, everyone in Sri Lanka has their own recipes for curry powders. These are from my family. There is also a special blend for prawns and one that we use for fish ambul thiyal. I might eventually do these too, but I we’ll see how it goes.

  2. At first I thought the ingredients to Sri Lankan raw powder seemed underwhelming, compared to Indian garam masala or the complexity of a Thai paste… but it really is subtle and beautiful. This power tastes fantastic in recipes like eggplant curry, carrot curry, okara curry, etc.

  3. had dinner at my friend’s and her best dish was used with this curry.. she sez she purchased it from you at bklyn flea in dumbo but I have never seen you nor this product even though I was a regular there this summer.. what gives? I’ve had my fill of pupusas, now time for some lankan curry lol

    1. Peace Munnygrip. I’ve been hawking at the Flea a couple times, and I intend to do it again this fall. In the meantime, I have 2 online stores that sell the powder and are accessible through my blog. Kalustyans in Manhattan also stocks it and I’m working on whole Foods.

      peace,
      Skiz

Leave a Reply

