Laal Maas (fiery goat curry from Rajasthan)

13 thoughts on “Laal Maas (fiery goat curry from Rajasthan)”

  1. 25 dried red chillis? I did it with 6 and it was inedibly hot, and I really like my spice.

    It must be the red chillis you’re using, mine are birdseye. What are yours? I’d like to know as I love the flavour of red chilli and want to increase the amount without making it taste like drinking sulphuric acid.

    M

    1. These are the regular long dried red chilis used commonly in Mexican food. Birdseye chilies are infinitely hotter. This is a good dish, though, you should try it.

  2. Just did this last night – absolutely great, thanks. For any east London-based readers, I got my goat from the butcher’s on Stoke Newington High Street (9 quid for a kilo, unfrozen), though I’m sure you could get a better deal in Brixton or Clapton and my black cardamom at the Indian-run spice shop over the road from that.

  3. My chicken biryani is still one of the biggest laughs in my family (and I now leave the recipe to the Indian restaurant of my choice), but I will give this recipe a try. I get my elachi (green), which I use every day in my tea, from Subzi Mandi’s, however, I have never noticed “black cardamom”. I will look for fresh goat at one of the Puerto Rican stores. Wish me luck and thanks for the recipe. It looks fabulous!

    1. Tracee:

      This recipe is great, but its not biryani. I’m going to do a post about biriyani soon, because Sri Lankan biryani is different from other kinds. But do try this one–especially if you like it spicy!

      Happy Cooking!

      Skiz

  4. Laal maas literally means red meat and I come from the part of india where this lesser known but excellent recipe hails from.
    The colour should come out deep red (rather than brown).
    To do this one needs excellent quality chillies. Note: for the purpose of rajasthani cooking excellent quality chillies means chillies that are deep red and REALLY mild. That way one can use a lot of them and give a deep colour, flavour and aroma to the food without making the food super hot. This is contrast to peoples thinking about the regular food that potent chillies are good quality chillies.

  5. I agree with Dev Vrat Singh. I have watched many people make laal maas in Rajasthan. And I’ve eaten a lot of it too. The young men, I find, like it blistering hot! But the chilis are less hot in general so you can use a lot of them for this dish. And the chilis should be pounded till nearly powdered before added — that makes the meat red. Good stuff — laal maas. Keep trying other recipes too. (And if it gets to hot, don’t hurt yourself, just pour some melted ghee on top and you will be able to eat it. Ghee is magic that way. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

