23 thoughts on “FISH AMBUL THIYAL (SOUR Fish Curry)”

  1. This is an amazing dish I learned first from your book. It at first tastes kind of “weird” to the Western Palate… kinda purple, funky, sour and exotic… but it really grows on you fast. It really does taste better on day two and three.

    p.s. the lunch plate looks AMAZING. I love making rainbow coloered plates of curries and sambols. It’s a lot of effort but it is well worth it.

    if you don’t have Skiz’s book on Sri Lankan Home Cooking.. it’s also well worth it.

  2. Why didn’t I think you might have a blog? And I stumbled upon as my stomach felt like Ambul thiyal… gonna try it out with monkfish. So glad this exists… but makes my mouth water for all kinds of back home cooking.

  3. hello…so I tried your ambulthiyal recipe. I was very skeptical because from my experience most sri lankan cookbook recipes just don’t get the taste right. Well, this one blew me away. It’s fantastic. Made it the day before and took it to a dinner with some indian friends and they devoured it. Thank you! So, that is enough proof for me –I will be buying your book.
    — Arunie

  4. I’m making this tonight to have with hoppers and seeni sambol .love your site..real god send for those of us living overseas and don’t have the privilege of eating mom’s home cooked food everyday :)

  5. May I simply say what a relief to uncover somebody that truly understands what they are
    talking about on the internet. You actually understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.

    More and more people ought to read this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised that you aren’t more popular since you most certainly possess the gift.

  6. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you just shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate
    your content. Please let me know. Thank you

Leave a Reply

