Pan Asian: Chicken Curry (Sri Lanka)

18 thoughts on “Pan Asian: Chicken Curry (Sri Lanka)”

  1. Hello:
    I am trying to re-create the jackfruit curry I saw with you on No Reservations. As I cannot find fresh jackfruit now in New York, do you think it is better to use the frozen jackfruit or the canned jackfruit – I have located both???
    Also I found a Sri Lankan curry powder (made by Kalustyans) in NY, but it only has 9 ingredients instead of 13 – coriander, fennel, cumin, chili, cardamom, cloves, cinnamon, rampe, curry leaves. Would this be sufficient. I could not remember if star anise was in the jackfruit curry or some of the other dishes that was mentioned on No Reservations.

    All your advice will be much appreciated – THANKS!!!

    1. I would think the canned jack would be better as the frozen stuff might get mushy. Also, I have never tried Kalustyans brand of Sri Lankan curry powder ( know they have many different kinds), but feel free to also order my curry from or Oh, and no start anise in the jackfruit. The star anise was used in the biriyani spices.

      Happy Cooking!


  2. Very simple recipe here. I love curry dishes but unfortunately spices are quite expensive in my city and sometimes hard to find. The spices you listed are readily available in our local supermarkets. I will definitely give it a try!

  3. Great, thorough video, I’m definitely going to give this a try. Once I find out where to get green cardamom pods and curry leaves, that is…

    1. Thanks! Do you have an Indian or Asian store near you? If so, you will have no problem finding cardamoms and curry leaves. Let me know if you don’t and I can give you a place where you can mail order these ingredients.


      1. Found both ingredients at an Indian grocery- thanks! I never even knew I had one in town until today.

        I look forward to more segments of Pan Asian.

  4. this is a masterpiece curry – one of the best I’ve tried. I heartily recommend getting Skiz’s fresh curry powder. His roasting is very good… very dark, decadent and rich. I roasted some of my own powder last winter and I made a dish with it on Friday, but it has since gone flat. The basic taste is still there but the “mids” don’t fractalize and sparkle. So use fresh curry powder!

Leave a Reply

