The Battle of the Lampreis

26 thoughts on “The Battle of the Lampreis”

    1. Sounds good. I’ll let you know when I’m going to SL next. I’ve eaten at Katpaham and it was pretty decent, but I like my food really really spicy.

      Best,
      Skiz

  1. I’d agree with Dilsiri. The Green Cabin lampreis is rubbish, and so is the Fab one. The one at the DBU is damn good, and the one at Barefoot isn’t bad.

    The cutlet and boiled egg is a recent addition, and isn’t part of a traditional lampreis. They were added simply because the now popular ‘chicken lampreis’ and ‘vegetable lampreis’ (!!) is so bland that it needs these additions.

    Oh, and fried ash plantain curry isn’t made from the banana flower, but from a type of banana which is floury in texture and has a grey-green skin.

    Interestingly, I’m told that Indonesia (also a former Dutch colony) has a similar dish to the lampreis, which includes coconut toddy in it 🙂

    1. Green Cabin is my fallback now because it’s always available. When you’re fresh from abroad, though, it tastes good–probably comparable to Pizza Hut over a New York city slice.

      And the Indonesian connection makes perfect sense.

  2. What about the vegetarians? huh?…theres a vegetarian lampreis at sensal, which according to your definition isn’t lampreis…but heck it tastes good.

  3. Try Lamprais aunty Mrs Warusawitharana 2573908 in thurstan road. She does a mean lamprais from her house.

  4. YUM! Wish lampreis were easy to make at home. Would make them myself without having to go all the way back to SL to hunt them down from the few places that have authentic lampreis

  5. I can say my mother’s lampreis is the best in the states. She makes it just like the orginal but she adds chicken to the meat curry. She sells 10.00 a pack. Email at shaani1743@gmail.com I can send some out!!! You can be the judge skiz1.

  6. where in the states? shaani and skiz wat is ur favourite lampreis in the nj-ny staten island area or ur favourite sl food in the area or sinhalese food!!

    ayubowan-வண்ணகம்

    best, ashiruthi probhasunee neeramma konmigalpandeyje from colombo
    rojer lakmanjeye singha rajapaksa jairatne from colombo

  7. where in the states? shaani and skiz wat is ur favourite lampreis in the nj-ny staten island area or ur favourite sl food in the area or sinhalese food!!

    ayubowan-வண்ணகம்

    best, ashiruthi probhasunee neeramma konmigalpandeyje from colombo
    rojer lakmanjeye singha rajapaksa jairatne from colombo

  8. thank you,thats too bad 😦 but wat is ur favourite sri lankan food in the nyc-nj area and how does banana leaf manhatthan compare to the staten island sri lankan places

  9. ashruthi konmigalpandeyje and roger lakmanjeye singha rajapaksa
    thank you,thats too bad but wat is ur favourite sri lankan food in the nyc-nj area and how does banana leaf manhatthan compare to the staten island sri lankan places

    1. In Manhattan, Banana Leaf and Sigiri on 1st Ave are equally good. For staten island I like New Asha. There is also a Sigiri in New Jersey but I have not tried it.

      Happy Eating!

  10. Couple of my English buddies and I are coming to SL on a flying work visit for couple of weeks and I’m keen to try the DBU fare everyone seems to wax lyrical about.

    What time should I roll in to I get my hands on the fabled lumpreis?

    1. You need to call the DBU in the morning and reserve as many lampries as you want as I did today because they are all gone by noon. The cost is 390 rupees (about $3.50). And the number (when dialing in SL) is 011-258-4511. Tell ’em Skiz sent you!

      peace!

  11. Dear Skiz

    I watched Anthony Bourdain in SL enjoying a home cooked Rice & Curry at Leela’s home. I will be in SL in January 2012 and it is my utmost desire to enjoy an authentic meal such as this in a village. Mud crab curry, chicken curry, jak mallung, breadfruit vege, dhal, pappadums and pol sambol. Please send me some info on how I can organise this. There will be 6-10 adults in our group. Any chance of going to Aunty Leela’s place for lunch?

    Kind regards

    Deanna (Sydney, Australia)

    1. Hi Yeolande:

      Until Leela opens a restaurant, I suggest you try Nuga Gama at the Cinnamon Grand. Haven’t been myself, but have heard a lot of goof things about it. It’s a recreation of a typical Sri Lankan village with all the village food. Let me know how you like it!
      Best,
      Skiz

  12. Someone said there are no cutlets in Lumprice. yeas there is and the cutlet is called Fricadale in Lumprice.(A Dutch Meat ball) Also need to add little bit of coconut cream in the rice before wrapping with banana leaf and bake.

Leave a comment